Dr. John Hansen

Electrical Engineering

Dr. John H.L. Hansen serves as Associate Dean for Research, Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering, and also holds the Distinguished University Chair in Telecommunications Engineeringat the University of Texas at Dallas, where he founded the Center for Robust Speech Systems, overseeing (i) UTDrive Driver Modeling/Safety Lab, (ii) RSTL:Robust Speech Technologies Lab, and (iii) CILab: Cochlear Implant Processing Lab.

He was awarded thehonorary degree “Doctor Technices Honoris Causa” from Aalborg University (Aalborg, DK) (April 2016) in recognition of his contributions to advanced signal processing and machine learning for speech, hearing, and human-machine systems. He previously servedas ECE Dept. Head at UTDallas, Dept. Head of Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences (Univ. of Colorado-Boulder). He was awarded 2021 IEEE Leo Beranek Meritorious Service Award “for exemplary service to and leadership in the IEEE Signal Processing Society”, as well as IEEE Fellow (2007), Inter. Speech Communication Association (ISCA) Fellow (2010), and The Acoustical Society of America’s 25 Year Award (2010). He has served as a technical program chair for IEEE ICASSP-2010, general chair for (ISCA) INTERSPEECH 2002, as well as serving as elected President of ISCA (2018-21), and Technical Advisor to the U.S. Delegate for NATO (IST/TG-01).

He has supervised 99PhD/MS thesis candidates (58 PhD, 41 MS/MA), was recipient of 2020 Univ. of Texas–Dallas Provost’s Award for Graduate Student Mentorship, 2005 Univ.of Colorado Teacher Recognition Award, author of +830journal &conference papers including 13 textbooks in the field of digital signal processing, speech processing, machine learning, and driver distraction modeling/detection. As PI, he has overseen +$28M in external funded research projects, including lead for DARPACommunicator program:"In-Vehicle Speech Processing, Recognition, and Vehicle Interface Systems.” He has served as organizer/contributor for the Biennial Workshop on DSPfor In-Vehicle Systems and Safety (2003–2022), as well as the corresponding edited textbook series on driver modeling and safety. He overseesthe CRSS-UTDrive lab, which supports fully instrumented vehicle platform for driver modeling, smart vehicle systems, and ADAS sensor integration.